Blitzboks want to channel frustration into quest for Olympic gold


The Blitzboks have declared their readiness to take on all comers in the Tokyo Stadium in the next three days.

Tokyo Olympics challenging the Blitzboks resilience

The Blitzboks face Ireland, Kenya and USA in Pool C of the Rugby Sevens tournament at the 2020Olympic Games.

Without coach Neil Powell at pitchside, the Blitzboks will face Ireland (04:00 SA time) and Kenya (12h00 SA time) on Monday and the USA (04:30 SA time) on Tuesday in their pool matches, and according to Renfred Dazel, they are motivated to the core to improve on the bronze medal they won in Rio in 2016, when Sevens was introduced for the first time.

Dazel is taking charge of the side with head coach Neil Powell still in isolation in Kagoshima and said the challenges the side faced since arriving in Japan have been good motivation.

“We are as well prepared as we could be, despite all the circumstances since we arrived in Japan,” said Dazel.

“We had limited sessions on the field, only managing two sessions in Kagoshima and two here in Tokyo, but we did good work in our virtual sessions as well.

“The virtual sessions helped us with our focus and we are not looking past the first game against Ireland. We have a specific plan against them and hope to implement that and get the result. We have done our homework and now it is a matter of applying that.”

The Blitzboks arrived in Japan with a combined total of 339 World Series tournaments between them, but only Justin Geduld has experienced the hype of the Olympics before.

“We are trying to not make it bigger than it is and treat it as just another tournament,” said Dazel. “For us, focussing on Ireland and not looking past them has helped in that regard.”

Kenya are dangerous but familiar

The Blitzboks will play Kenya in their second pool match on Monday and Dazel said the fact that they faced against their fellow African representatives two months ago in the Solidarity Sevens Camp will help.

“We played recently and will have a look if they have anything different to offer in their first match of the pool against the USA. But we have enough time for that, for now it is all about Ireland,” he said.

The Blitzboks are seeded third for the tournament. New Zealand, Australia, Argentina and South Korea will contest Pool A, while Fiji, Great Britain, Canada and Japan were drawn in Pool B.

The Blitzboks squad

1. Chris Dry

2. Sakoyisa Makata

3. Impi Visser

4. Zain Davids

5. Angelo Davids

6. JC Pretorius

7. Branco du Preez

8. Selvyn Davids

9. Justin Geduld

10. Kurt-Lee Arendse

11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain)

12. Stedman Gans

13. Ronald Brown

Travelling reserve: Ruhan Nel

Angelo Davids #1 of the Blitzboks carries the ball in front of Perry Baker #11 of USA during their rugby sevens match at BC Place on March 08, 2020 in Vancouver, Canada. (Photo by Trevor Hagan/Getty Images)


Source []

What’s your Reaction on this?
Fᴏʀ ᴏɴʟiɴᴇ ᴀᴅᴠᴇʀᴛ Call/WhatsApp➪+2348073364505What did you think about this mind blowing article?

Share the link with your love ones.